# THROWBACK - GIVING WINGS TO DREAMS AWARDS 2024

## Felicitating the leaders of today, who will further inspire and light up the path for #ChampionsOfChangetomorrow

21st November, 2024

Women in Aviation India (WAI) held its 3rd edition of the iconic Awards - Giving Wings to Dreams 2024 on 21st November 2024 at Roseate House New Delhi, felicitating 37 women achievers who have contributed significantly to the aviation sector.

The award ceremony took place in the distinguished presence of Shri Vumlunmang Vualnam, Secretary, Ministry of Civil Aviation, Government of India and other eminent dignitaries present at the ceremony included Smt. Usha Padhee, IAS, Principal Secretary, Commerce & Transport Dept., Govt. of Odisha and Mr. Vipin Kumar, IAS - Chairman AAI. Following a thorough selection process, led by an eminent jury comprising of stalwarts of the industry, successful women aviators across categories of airside operations, terminal operations, ground support, flight dispatchers, airline security, fire rescue, engineering, communication, cabin crew and flight operations were felicitated at the award ceremony. Women achievers from nodal aviation authorities DGCA, CISF and Pawan Hans were also recognized for service excellence.

Mr. Vumlunmang Vualnam highlighted the government's dedication to integrating women into the expanding drone industry, linking this initiative to the broader transformation underway in India's aviation sector. He further praised the contribution of women pioneers of the sector who have already paved the way in aviation, urging them to harness emerging opportunities in the drone sector, regional airlines and emerging areas of the aviation ecosystem.



The Hon'ble Secretary, Ministry of Civil Aviation emphasized that women's participation is key to sustaining the momentum of growth, making them indispensable to the future of aviation in India.

Giving Wings to Dreams Awards are a grand culmination of a series of Girls in Aviation Day programs supported by state governments, airports, schools, colleges and other stakeholders, celebrated across 14 cities in India.

Taking another step towards encouraging young girls to explore careers in aviation, 35 participants of Girls in Aviation Day events held in schools, were also recognized at the awards ceremony as Young Aviation Ambassadors. They were awarded a sponsorship for courses related to the travel & aviation industry. 34 students are currently pursuing relevant courses at Bird Academy.

More than 200 guests attended the ceremony in person, while hundreds joined the live streaming on the official WAI Facebook & YouTube handles.













### **WOMEN AWARDEES**

#### **AIRLINES - GROUND SUPPORT**

Ms. Radhika Dey Airport Manager SNV Aviation Private Limited (Akasa Air)

Ms. Maninder Kaur Sr. Manager Operations Alliance Air Aviation Limited

Ms. Shalaka Damle Airport Manager SNV Aviation Private Limited (Akasa Air)

Ms. Esha Reddy
Dy. Chief Airport Operations
Blue Dart Aviation

#### **AIRLINES - PILOTS**

Capt. Urmila Yadav Commander Alliance Air Aviation Limited

Ms. Karishma Sabharwal First Officer | Flight Operations IndiGo

#### **AIRLINES - CABIN CREW**

Ms. Aarti Soni Lead Cabin Attendant | Inflight Services IndiGo

Ms. Priyanka Singh Lead Cabin Crew Interglobe Aviation Limited

#### **AIRLINES - FLIGHT DISPATCHERS**

Ms. Indira Gokaraju Operations Manager Mytri Aviation Pvt. Ltd.

#### **AIRLINES - SECURITY**

Ms. Pronoti Grewal
Regional Security Manager - North
SNV Aviation Private Limited (Akasa Air)

Ms. Nazma Parveen
Officer Security
Alliance Air Aviation Limited

Ms. Saswati Deb Kalita Supervisor Security Alliance Air Aviation Limited

### AIRPORTS - AIRSIDE DESIGN & CONSTRUCTION

Ms. Sithara Chandran

Deputy General Manager - Airside Design

Larsen & Toubro Limited

#### **AIRPORTS - AIRSIDE OPERATIONS**

Ms. Pallavi Priya Associate Manager Delhi International Airport Ltd.

## AIRPORTS – EXCEPTIONAL PASSENGER SERVICE AT THE AIRPORT

Ms. Ekta Ghosh Chief Digital Officer Adani Airports Holding Limited

Ms. K. Sathyabhama Nair (Late) Head - Service Quality, Training & Standards Bangalore International Airport Limited

#### AIRPORTS - FINANCE

Mrs. V. Vidya

Member

Airport economic regulatory authority (AERA)

[Former ED finance & JVC AAI]

Government of India (formerly AAI)

Dr. Shreya Sharma

**Bench Officer** 

Airports Economic Regulatory Authority of India

Smt. Sonia Sahni

Assistant Section Officer (ASO)

Airports Economic Regulatory Authority of India

(AERA)

#### AIRPORTS - FINANCE

Ms. Disha Naik

Fire Fighter

GMR Goa International Airport Ltd.

#### **AIRPORTS - TERMINAL OPERATIONS**

Ms. K. Kasthuri

Assistant General Manager (Engineering-Civil)

Airports Authority of India

Ms. Usha Devi. T.P

Deputy General Manager-Civil Engineering

Cochin linternational Airport Limited

Ms. Payal Gautam

Head - General

Aviation Adani Airport Holdings Ltd.

#### **AIRPORTS - OPERATIONS**

Ms. Nayonika Sharma

Lead, Flight Operations

Yamuna International Airport Pvt. Ltd.

#### **AVIATION AUTHORITIES - CISF**

Ms. Bijendri Thakur

Lady Constable

Maa Danteshwari Airport, Jagdalpur

Ms. Nusrat Rashid

Lady Constable, CISF

#### **AVIATION AUTHORITIES - DGCA**

Ms. Meenu Kapil

Director, DGCA

Ms. Ekta Agrawal

Deputy Director, DGCA

Capt. Poonam Devrakhyani

Flight Operations Inspector (Aero planes)

DGCA

#### **AVIATION AUTHORITIES - DGCA**

Capt. Reena Varughese

Pawanhans Limited.

#### **AVIATION - LEGAL**

Ms. Shilpa Bhatia

Company Secretary, Legal Officer& EA to CEO,

Alliance Air Aviation Limited

#### SUPPORT SERVICES - ADMINISTRATION

Ms. Karishma Pashana

Chief of Staff

Millennium Aero Dynamics Private Limited

Ms. Rajashree Gunjal

Sr. Manager- Corporate Travel

Millennium Aero Dynamics Pvt. Ltd.

Ms. Pratima Thakar

Vice President - Air Contracting

Holidays, Corporate and GCC

MakeMyTrip

## SUPPORT SERVICES - MARKETING & COMMUNICATION

Ms. Geetika Seth

Sales Manager Emirates Airlines,

West Bengal, Emirates Airlines

#### **PIONEERS**

Capt. Poonam Gaur

Co-Founder & Director

Air taxi (Aviation Connectivity & Infrastructure

Developers Pvt. Ltd.)

Wing Cdr. Vidhu Singh (Retd)

Dy Chief of Flight Safety

Pawan Hans Ltd

## SPONSORSHIPS AWARDED TO SCHOOL STUDENTS AT THE AWARDS CEREMONY 2024:

NAME	CITY	SCHOOL
Spurthy	Hyderabad	ZPHS Mamidipally
Puspanjali Gouda	Orissa	Ramadevi Womens H.S School
Ananya Jyoti Routray	Orissa	Ramadevi Womens H.S School
Deva Swinee Jena	Orissa	Ramadevi Womens H.S School
Ankita Priyadarsini Swain	Orissa	Ramadevi Womens H.S School
Irum Qayoom	Srinagar	Women's Polytechnical College
Fiza Naseer	Srinagar	NSTI
Khushi Kumari	Chandigarh	GGMSS
Simaran	Chandigarh	GGMSS
Рооја	Agra	Ek Pahal Pathshala
Suman	Agra	Ek Pahal Pathshala
Shefa Sakli	Gurgaon	Vidya School
Saloni Pathak	Gurgaon	Vidya School
Tanu Kumari	Gurgaon	Vidya School
Suhana Parvin	Gurgaon	Vidya School
Ruchi Rai	Gurgaon	Vidya School
Tara	Gurgaon	Vidya School
Himanshi Yadav	Gurgaon	Vidya School
Tulsi Thakur	Gurgaon	Vidya School
Roshni Kumari	Gurgaon	Vidya School
Aayushi Sinha	Gurgaon	Vidya School
Raji Joshi	Jaipur	BVB Vidyashram
Janvi Sharma	Jaipur	Subodh Public School, Rambagh Jaipur
Navya Meena	Jaipur	Riya International School
Arika Anitha	Srikakulam	Government College for Women, Srikakulam
J Gangotri	Srikakulam	Government College for Women, Srikakulam
P Nagamani	Srikakulam	Government College for Women, Srikakulam
Yerra Akhila	Srikakulam	Government College for Women, Srikakulam
Yelthuri Jyoshna	Srikakulam	Government College for Women, Srikakulam
P. Suseela	Srikakulam	Government College for Women, Srikakulam
Stanzin Norzen	Leh	Indian Training Institute
Sana Shaikh	Mumbai	Gazdar Park Manekji SEC School
Nandini Yadav	Mumbai	Gazdar Park Manekji SEC School
Shweta Vishwakarma	Dehradun	NSTI
Sonu Kanwar	Dehradun	NSTI